Another Country.

.14117922_10153825897991451_1493038731374309617_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sturdy legs need help to stand.
Shy face knows it should smile.
Hands hold tight to a little mug.
“I drank it all up. Warm cows milk.
I’m a good girl I am.”

Spotted pinny over white dress.
“I’ve seen some spotty pigs.”
Shoelaces double knotted,
hair ribbon falling out.
“I’m a good girl I am.”

“I held my cousin Audrey’s hand.
We found some squelchy mud.
A big horse blew its nose at me.
I wasn’t a bit scared.
I’m a good girl I am.”

A special time. “I wore Gladys’ hat.
They all laughed and then I cried.
All these people looking at me-
I wasn’t right keen on that.
I’m a good girl I am.”

More than fifty years ago
that little mite was me.
So much to learn- so many thoughts-
new things ahead to see.
“I’m a good girl I am.”

Leave a Reply

