Resurrection.

IMG_0080

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“We didn’t have to do much
to bring you back,”
the nurse said.
For two minutes
my heart had stopped beating.
Wait! Think!
That’s a long time,
and unless I have developed
the powers of resurrection
-which seems unlikely-
I was not dead.
So where was I?

Everything that I know and love,
thoughts, feelings, memories,
had been held in silent darkness
while the world went on
without me.
Stasis.
My lifeblood stilled.
The core of everything I am
kept safe, held together
during a time of unknowing.
A being held in trust
in the midst of emptiness.

So where was I?
Where did I come back from?
How was I found again?
How dead was I?

Everybody has to be somewhere.

2 comments on “Resurrection.

  1. textiletreasury says:

    Profound!

Leave a Reply

