It’s a Girl!

Festooned in frills,
cocooned in layers of froth,
a perfect, pink princess
is introduced to a waiting world,
kicking her legs
and smiling out
at a sea of admiration.
Our new princess.
“Isn’t she lovely?”
“Look at her little toes.”
“She’s going to be a heartbreaker.”
“How pretty does she look?”
“I could just eat her up.”
“My little Tinkerbelle.”
“Squishable!”
“Bless.”

“You are so lucky.”
“I know. You can buy such pretty things
for a girl.”
“Ooooops. Couldn’t resist.”
“Girl shopping is the best!”
“It’s seriously expensive though, having a girl.”
“Try the charity shops-
I don’t know why but they always have
loads of girl clothes.”
“Supercute!”
“The Little Birds range is good-
girly and playful without being pink.”
“I love having a little girl to dress.”
“I know!”
“Never let your baby have a blue dummy-
seriously, someone thought my Lucy was a boy!”
“No way!”

“Here she is in her new outfit nanna!
We’ve had so many comments.
She loves it.”

“I just want her to be happy.”

What could possibly be wrong with that?

This entry was posted in Poetry..

Leave a Reply

